About SEA

Who is Structural Engineering Associates?

Each day artists, bankers, doctors, educators, students and shoppers across the Kansas City metropolitan area work and play in structures designed by Structural Engineering Associates, Inc (SEA). Our projects include downtown landmarks, suburban schools and metropolitan arts centers. We have designed major medical centers, world-renowned museums and world headquarters for major corporations. With a portfolio spanning 100 years, SEA can proudly say that we helped build Kansas City.

From City Hall, Jackson County Courthouse and Municipal Auditorium during the 1930s to our recent work on the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art expansion, the new IRS Service Center and the upcoming Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts, SEA is continually engaged in the most exciting projects in Kansas City.

Over time, our work has expanded beyond the Kansas City area and we now work with owners, cities and universities across the Midwest.

SEA is a privately-owned company, operated by three principals with almost a century of combined structural engineering experience. SEA’s professional engineers are licensed in 26 states throughout the United States.

Our ongoing mission is to meet each engineering challenge with an expert approach and to use the best available methods to provide an effective solution. We are continually challenged to design structural systems that not only serve a functional purpose but also provide an economical solution for the project program.

We have earned a reputation within the design and construction industry as “problem solvers.” To maintain this authority, we constantly stay abreast of new materials and techniques and combine this with our years of engineering experience to provide sound, functional and economically feasible solutions.

SEA has professional engineers licensed in 29 states throughout the United States.

  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • District of Columbia
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Indiana
  • Illinois
  • Iowa
  • Kansas 
  • Maine
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Carolina
  • Utah (civil)